In Search of…

Whenever I can, I hang wet laundry on the outside lines to dry. Doing this provides several benefits: I get some sun, some fresh air, some exercise, and I use less electricity (energy), which saves a bit of money. Plus, the clothes smell nice and fresh after a few hours (or a work day) hanging on the line.

My biggest problem with hanging wash is finding clothespins! I used to have dozens and dozens (many of them passed down to me from family members), but now, because of clothespins lost, broken, or warped from the rain (when children left them out instead of putting them away), I now have less than 50, which is certainly not enough to hang 4 loads of clothes on the line in one day as I do sometimes.

Although I haven’t checked out all of my local stores–I work full-time during the week, and my husband does most of the shopping–I haven’t had any luck, in the places that I have looked, finding clothespins that aren’t flimsy-looking pieces of plastic or wood with cheap-looking springs. I want, and need, heavy-duty ones, preferably of non-rusting metal or of decent wood, and even more preferably, American made.  My best-performing clothespins don’t even have springs; they are simply wood.

What does a modern mother do to find information about an item that she wants to purchase? Go searching on the Internet, of course! In the first page of search results, I found several promising options; yay! I will investigate further before I order, but I may just try a few different kinds to find out which kind I like best, and then order a few dozen more of that kind.

Off to the laundry again!

Leave a Reply

