Back Pain

When I was growing up, I witnessed several relatives deal with back pain that was so strong that they were barely able to move.  As a child, and as a young adult without that pain, I could not understand what they were experiencing.  When I was pregnant with my fifth child, I finally started to understand because I began to have pain in my lower back.  At first I thought it was strictly related to being pregnant, but when I experienced the same pain months and years after that pregnancy, I began to think that the pain was from an old injury, but I couldn’t really determine what caused the pain to come and go.

Finally, though, I realized that I usually experienced the pain after I’d not had enough water the day or so before, that the pain was, most likely, from dehydration.  This usually occurs when I’ve been very busy, especially at home on the weekends, and I haven’t taken the time to drink as much water as I usually drink each day while working in the office, where I typically drink at least 3 liters during the daytime hours.

I can go months without experiencing the pain, so when it returns, I often don’t remember right away why I have the pain, and often think it’s from moving too much or lifting too much weight or something.

This afternoon the pain came again as I was helping to prepare for an academic year-end awards ceremony, but I didn’t attribute the pain to less than my usual amount of water until hours later, when I was driving home, and I realized that in the 4 hours before, during, and after the ceremony, I’d only had about 20 oz of water, when I usually have at least 3-4 times that much during that time period during the day.  Also, thinking back to yesterday, I spent hours doing housework, and I neglected to drink my usual amount of water.  Another factor is that the baby is having her three-month growth spurt, so wants / needs more milk than usual, which means that I need to intake even more water.

If I have the pain again, I hope to remember that it might be from having had less water than usual, so that I can remedy the problem sooner.

Leave a Reply

